Tripp County, South Dakota GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tripp County, South Dakota)

United States Gotoarrow.png South Dakota Gotoarrow.png Tripp County

Guide to Tripp County, South Dakota ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/South Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records South Dakota
Online Records





Tripp County, South Dakota
Map
Map of South Dakota highlighting Tripp County
Location in the state of South Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Dakota
Location of South Dakota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 8, 1873
County Seat Winner
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Tripp Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Tripp County Courthouse
200 East 3rd Street
Winner, SD 57580
Phone 605.842.2266

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1909,
burial records from 1941 and land records; County
Treasurer has marriage records from 1909; Clerk
Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1912[1]

History

Parent county

  • 1873--Tripp County was created 8 January 1873 from Gregory and Todd(old) Counties and unorganized territory.
  • County seat: Winner, SD 57580; Tripp County Courthouse [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Augusta name changed to Wewela in 1909

Bliss

Carter

Clearfield

Coburn name changed to Eastview in 1910

Colina

Colome

Danton

Dorian

Eastview

Gooby name changed to Keyapaha

Hamill

Houston

Ideal

Jordan

Kenyon

Keyapaha

Komer

Lamro

Linden

Magnet

McLain

McNeely

Millboro

Pahapesto

Roseland name changed to Hamill in 1910

Shoemaker

Wayne

Wewela

Winner

Witten


Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation & Military Service

1905 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

1935 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search


Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Tripp County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~sdtripp/index.htm

"Tripp County Centennial 1909-2009", published by Winner Chamber of Commerce Centennial History Committee, 480 pages; history of Tripp County; many biographies of area families.

"Businesses in Winner, SD from 1910 - 2008, A Tripp County Centennial Project", Keo Boreson, Compiler, August 2009; history of each business building on Main Street of Winner, SD and change of ownership and type of business, 200 pages

"Our Roots are in Wewela", Helen Turnquist, Compiler; 2009; History and maps of Wewela, SD; many old pictures of town, church and school; biographies of families in area; 195 pages

"Colome, SD Diamond Jubilee, 1908-1983", Diamond Jubilee Book Committee, Frances Jorgenson, Chairman, 207 pages. History of Colome: Naming of Colome, Churches, Organizations, Schools, and Business. Includes large section of biographies of families of area and many pictures of town and people.

"Before Homesteads in Tripp County and the Rosebud", by Gladys Whitehorn Jorgensen. 138 pages. Excellent early history of Tripp County area along with biographies of very early families and prominent Native Americans in the area. Many pictures and maps.

Maps

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tripp County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Tripp then click Probate records.

Schools

Tripp County Rural Schools, 100 Years" compiled by Family Tree Society, Winner, SD, 192 pages; rural school pictures and stories.

Taxation

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Tripp County, South Dakota, p.628
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2015, at 01:43.
  • This page has been accessed 6,123 times.