Tulliallan, Perthshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Tulliallan

Parish #397

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Tulliallan. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.


Contents

History

TULLIALLAN, a parish, in the county of Perth, ½ a mile (N. by E.) from Kincardine; containing the sea-port town of Kincardine. This place derives its name, signifying in the Gaelic language, the "Beautiful Hill," from its situation on a gently sloping eminence at the south-western extremity of the county. The church is a handsome and substantial structure, erected in 1833 and contains 1176 sittings. There are also places of worship for members of the Free Church and United Secession.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Tulliallan, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042698
none
1851
1042251
941.32 X22p 1851 no. 397
1861
0103896
none
1871
0104079
none
1881
0203515
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
0208745
none


The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1673-1777 1040141 item 5

1777-1854 1040193 item 1-3
Marriages: 1673-1854 1040193 item 1-3
Deaths: 1698 - burials, mortcloth dues 1040141 item 5

1680-1781, 1807 1040193 item 1-3

1820-1853 1040193 item 1-3

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Duplicate of birth record for March 1692–November 1702.
Marriages: Duplicate of marriage records for April 1692–July 1698.
Deaths: The burials are Mortcloth Dues until 1740. No burial entries November 1740–January 1747, after which deaths are recorded, with specification of disease and frequently the age of the deceased.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1674–1932
Accounts 1673–1680, 1690–1745, 1767–1893
Mortcloth and Bell Money 1711–1743
Parochial Statistics 1836
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/710.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Tulliallan Free Church

History—
The Tulliallan Free Church congregation was organized in August 1843. The new church opened in 1844. A congregation of Old Light Burghers in the village of Kincardine, who had joined the Church of Scotland in 1839, adhered to the Free Church and united with the Tulliallan Free Church congregation in 1843. The church was renovated and a hall added in 1871. The congregation was transferred from the Presbytery of Dunblane to that of Dunfermline.
Membership: 1848, 250; 1900, 147.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Minutes 1844–1874, 1898–1914
Deacons Court Minutes 1844–1913
Accounts 1845–1869
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/1019.

Civil Regisration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Tulliallan was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunblane until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunblane.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog
 for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 546-567. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 May 2014.

Return to Perthshire parish list.




 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,046 times.