Tushingham, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Tushingham, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
TUSHINGHAM, with Grindley, a township, in the parish of Malpas, union of Nantwich, Higher division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Malpas. 
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.
Tushingham Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Tushingham St Chad Parish (1824) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
| FS BT's
Tushingham-cum-Grindley was founded in 1691 as a chapel to Malpas: St. Oswald, becoming a Parish church 1824.
Here is a list of registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Bishop's transcripts, St. Chad's Church, Tushingham-cum-Grindley, Cheshire, 1861-1872 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 207
| Bishops Transcripts: Tushingham-cum-Grindley
| Baptisms, 1861-1866, 1868-1869, burials, 1861-1866, 1868-1869, baptisms,burials, 1870, 1867, 1871-1872.
|| 1647714 Item 6|
- Primitive Methodist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Nantwich (1837-53)
- Whitchurch (1853-1937)
- West Cheshire (1937-74)
- Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
- Cheshire West (1998-2007)
- Cheshire (2007-09)
- Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)
Poor Law Unions
- Nantwich (1837-53)
- Whitchurch (1853-1930)
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.
- This page was last modified on 7 July 2015, at 02:17.
- This page has been accessed 675 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News