Tydd St Mary, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Tydd St Mary, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Tydd St Mary, Lincolnshire|
|Poor Law Union||Holbeach PLU|
|Parish registers: 1540|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
TYDD (St. Mary), a parish in the union of Holbech, wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 6 miles (N. by W.) from Wisbech. There are two Methodists chapels in this parish; Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists.
TYDD-ST. MARY, a parish with a village and with part of Tydd-Gote hamlet, in Holbeach district, Lincoln; on the Peterborough and Sutton-Bridge railway, 3 miles SW of Sutton-Bridge. It has a station on the railway, and a post-office, of the name of Tydd, under Wisbeach. There are two Methodist chapels.
The parish forms the county boundary with neighbouring parish of Tydd St Giles, Cambridgeshire .
This parish was part of the Long Sutton sub-district of Holbeach registration district.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Tydd St Mary Par 1 will identify available images.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Tydd St Mary
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438754.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 01:55.
- This page has been accessed 2,464 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News