Tyseley, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Tyseley, Worcestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Tyseley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Tyseley (through time); A Vision of Britain through Time includes a large library of local statistics for administrative units. For the best overall sense of how the area containing Tyseley has changed, please see our redistricted information for the modern district of Birmingham.[1]

Additional information:

First record Tisseleye 1327

Tyseley; Old English Tyssa's leah may mean 'Tyssa's forest clearing' and is first found recorded in the 1327 Lay Subsidy Rolls. 'Tyssa may be a personal name, although it is not recorded elsewhere. However, the name may possibly refer to Tiw, an Anglo-Saxon god of war, or to a person named after him. If this is the case, the name may indicate a rare late survival of paganism, or less likely a settlement founded earlier than the conversion to Christianity. The modern pronuncation, ties ley reflects the modern spelling; it would have been pronounced as tiss ley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth. History of Tyseley, in Birmingham and Worcestershire. Date accessed and adapted: 17 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:47.
  • This page has been accessed 610 times.