Udimore, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Udimore, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Rye PLU|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
UDIMORE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and borough of Rye, hundred of Gostrow, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 3½ miles (W. S. W.) from Rye. This parish is bounded on the south by Brede channel, and situated on the road from Rye to Battle. The church is principally in the early English style.
Udimore St Mary is an Ancient Parish in East Sussex and includes Little Udimore. The ecclesiastical modern parish is teamed with St George Brede, Sussex
A History of the Church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Udimore St Mary
The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Other places of worship include
Methodist Chapel built in 1882 closed in 1960's and converted to private residential dwelling Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Methodist Chapel, Cock Marling built 1863 closed 1907 Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within Rye Registration district, from 1935 this was incorporated into Battle Registration district
Certiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Udimore
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 23:39.
- This page has been accessed 2,234 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News