Uetikon am See parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Uetikon am See parish

Guide to Uetikon am See parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Uetikon am See belonged to Meilen until 1682, when it became an independent parish.

Place Names

Locations within Uetikon am See

Binzhalde
Binziger
Birchweid
Blumental
Brand
Breite
Bühl
Bühlen
Esslinger
Furren

Gibisnüt
Grossdorf
Grüt
Gseck
Haslenbach
Hinter-Brand
Kessler
Kirchbühl
Kleindorf
Knolli

Kreuzstein
Langenbaum
Mühle
Mühleweid
Ober-Brand
Rotholz
Rundi
Rüti
Speckli

Stötzli
Strick
Teufleten
Tuntelen
Uetikon
Unter-Tuntelen
Unterwies
Weid
Weissenrain

Surrounding Parishes

Egg
Männedorf
Meilen
Oetwil am See
Wädenswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Uetikon am See was established in 1682. For censuses prior to 1682, see Meilen.

The following censuses are available for Uetikon am See:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1689 1185164 1 409
1696 1185165 1 701
1702 1185165 1 721
1709 1185169 1 641
1726 1185173 1 517
1739 1185173 1 551

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Uetikon am See families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Uetikon am See belongs to the Männedorf civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt
Bahnhofstrasse 10
CH-8708 Männedorf

Tel: +41 44 921 66 00

email: zivilstandsamt@maennedorf.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Uetikon am See prior to 1875:

Bachmann
Baumann
Beer
Bosshard (1801)
Brändli
Brupbacher
Bruppacher
Bühler
Feurer

Guggenbühl
Knabenhans
Leemann
Lehmann
Leuthold
Meier
Meyer
Pfenninger

Pfister
Reichling
Rusterholz
Schmid
Schnorf
Steiger
Trudel
Weber

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 14:48.
  • This page has been accessed 415 times.