Ugglebarnby, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ugglebarnby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Whitby PLU|
|Parish registers: 1732|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1638|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Ugglebarnby All Saints is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1748 from chapelry in Whitby, Yorkshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Little Beck and Iburn Dale. UGGLEBARNBY, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Whitby, liberty of Whitby-Strand, N. riding of York, 4 miles (S. S. W.) from Whitby. Ugglebarnby belonged to Whitby Abbey, and at the Dissolution came into the possession of the Archbishop of York. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Whitby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|UGGLEBARNBY CHAPELRY (1742) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ugglebarnby and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whitby to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Whitby page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464236.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 411-414. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2015, at 02:01.
- This page has been accessed 3,048 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News