United States CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States U.S. Census
|U.S. Census Topics|
|Non-Population Federal Schedules|
|U.S. Census Types|
|Other records that show where people lived are:|
See also Beginning Census Research and Record Keeping in the FamilySearch Learning Center.
Key U.S. Census Indexes and Images Internet Links
- United States Census Online Genealogy Records Internet links by year
- FamilySearch Historical Records (Free) Indexes and images 1790-1940. (Slide down to see census years)
- Ancestry.com ($) indexes images 1790-1940
- Internet Archive (Free) images 1790-1930
- Findmypast.com ($) indexes & images 1790 - 1940
- HeritageQuest ($) images 1790-1940 + a few indexes
- Fold3.com ($) index & images 1860 and 1930
- CensusRecords.com ($) indexes & images 1790-1940
- My Free Census Find your ancestors in the U.S. census, and International census records, in our easy to use census directory.
- New Horizons Genealogy Specializing in State Census Records.
- Census Finder free census links and how to use census records for genealogical research.
- Cyndi's List - United States - U.S. Census free index of links
- Internet Archive http://archive.org/details/us_census free complete use of all US census records
Other Helpful U.S. Census Internet Links
- U.S. Federal Census: Free Access to Millions of Records FamilySearch all free search
- U.S. Census Bureau (Free) images of published transcriptions of 1790 census for 12 states
Value of Censuses
A census is a count and description of the population of a country,state, county, or city. Census lists are also called “schedules." In the United States a nationwide census has been taken every ten years since 1790. A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to:
Contents of Federal Censuses
- What You'll Learn in the Census Year by Year Ancestry.com ($) Comparison table of census headings
- Historical Census Browser 1790-1960 (University of Virginia Library)
Finding Census Records
Censuses in U.S. States
Censuses in U.S. Territories
Key Reference Sources
- Map Guide to U.S. Federal Censuses 1790-1920  Shows county boundary changes in each state from 1790 to 1920, and which census areas were lost or still exist.
- The Census Book: a Genealogist's Guide to Federal Census Facts, Schedules and Indexes: with Master Extraction Forms for Federal Census Schedules, 1790-1930  An online edition is at HeritageQuestOnline. Discusses indexes, regular, and non-population schedules.
- Censuses and Tax Lists  Strategies for finding elusive ancestors, and history of indexing.
- Census Class Video 
- State and Special Census Video 
- Heads of Households Only Video 
- United States Census, 1890 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Things you can do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- ↑ William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to U.S. Federal Censuses 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987) [FHL Book 973 X2th].
- ↑ William Dollarhide, The Census Book: a Genealogist's Guide to Federal Census Facts, Schedules and Indexes: with Master Extraction Forms for Federal Census Schedules, 1790-1930. (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1999)[FHL book 973 X27d].
- ↑ G. David Dilts, "Censuses and Tax Lists" in Kory L. Meyerink, ed., Printed Sources: a Guide to Published Genealogical Records (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1998), 300-52. [FHL Book 016.9293 P96m]
- ↑ Tiffany Perkins, Tiff's Census Class (27 minute online video) FamilySearch Research Classes Online, and Mid-Continent Public Library, Midwest Genealogy Center, 2010.
- ↑ Gary Toms, State and Special Census Records (36 minute online video) FamilySearch Research Classes Online, and Mid-Continent Public Library, Midwest Genealogy Center, 2010.
- ↑ Angela McComas, Heads of Household Only: Analysis of Pre-1850 Federal Census (19 minute online video) FamilySearch Research Classes Online, and Mid-Continent Public Library, Midwest Genealogy Center, 2010.
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2015, at 07:53.
- This page has been accessed 291,531 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News