Upminster, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Upminster, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Laurence Upminster Essex
|Poor Law Union||Romford PLU|
|Parish registers: 1543|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1813|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Upminster (St. Lawrence), is a parish, in the union of Romford, hundred of Chafford, south division of Essex, it is 3½ miles E S E from Romford. It contains the hamlets of Corbetstye, Upminster-Common, and Harton. There is a place of worship for Independents.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Upminster, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Upminster, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Baptisms 1801-1837: ERO
[originally at Upminster Hill rebuilt 1911 in Station Road now
Trinity United Reformed Church]
built circa 1910
Corbets Tey Rd
Burials 1543-1897: ERO
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241363.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 19:52.
- This page has been accessed 2,597 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News