Upshur County, West Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Upshur County, West Virginia)

United States Gotoarrow.png West Virginia Gotoarrow.png Upshur County

Guide to Upshur County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link= Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records

Upshur County, West Virginia
Map of West Virginia highlighting Upshur County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Founded March 26, 1851
County Seat Buckhannon
Upshur County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Upshur County Courthouse
40 West Main Street #101
Buckhannon, WV 26201 304-472-1068
Phone: 304-472-1068
Upshur County Website


County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death & land records from 1853
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce Probate County Records[1]


Upshur County History

Upshur County, West Virginia from Hardesty's 1883

The history of Upshire County, West Virginia

Parent County

1851--Upshur County was created 26 March 1851 from Randolph, Barbour and Lewis Counties.  County seat: Buckhannon [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

History of the Sago Community

Neighboring Counties

1940 Census Join us in indexing the 1940 Census





For tips on accessing Upshur County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Join us in indexing the 1940 Census




Local Histories

West Virginia Archives History Upshur County



Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Upshur County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Upshur County, West Virginia Genealogy:


- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Light Artillery, Battery E Light Artillery.


- 25th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Heck's). Company A (Upshur Grays).[3]

Records and histories are available, including:


West Virgina, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991



Online Probate Records

Upshur County, West Virginia Will Books 1852 - 1955

West Virginia Will Books


Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

. Includes marriages 1853-1970 - free.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical Genealogical Societies

  • Methodist Historical Society

West Virginia Wesleyan College

Annie M Pfeiffer Library

College Avenue

Buckhannon, West Virginia 26201-


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Upshur County, West Virginia. Page 746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2015, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 11,436 times.