Upwood with Great Raveley, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes

Upwood with Great Raveley, Huntingdonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hurstingstone
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union St Ives; Huntingdon PLU
Registration District Huntingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; For more records see Bury
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Ives
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Upwood with Great Raveley, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Upwood(St. Peter) and Great Ravely, are parishes, in the hundred of Hurstingstone, in Huntingdonshire, 2¾ miles S W from Ramsey. In Great Ravely there is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Upwood with Great Raveley, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Upwood with Great Raveley, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1812

HUNT

1701-1900
NBI

1701-1900

Original registers are available from the Huntingdon Records Office. To see a break down Records click here.

Parish registers for Upwood and the Raveleys (Great and Little) are available at a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The film number is 2301109.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288836.


Poor Law Unions

St Ives Poor Law Union, Huntingdonshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Upwood on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,846 times.