User:Carolbmoss/Sandbox:Recipe 4Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Finding family members in the census, then verify them in vital records online.
Find other family members of Your Ancestor in the United States Census, 1850-1940
Census indexes can help you locate your ancestors. People were listed in national, state and territorial census records. The national census was done every ten years. State censuses were often done five years after the national census. Most census records are available online.
Step 1. Search for your ancestor in a census record
Search in the United States Census collection at: www.FamilySearch.org (free).
- Use the ancestor's name, birth year and birth place for a successful search.
Tips for success:
- Always look at the original record, not just the index or transcript.
- Find your ancestor in each available census.
- If you don't find the person in the census nearest their birth try one near their marriage or death.
- If you only have initials for one parent's given name try searching by the other parent's given name.
- Click on the links below to search the record group:
|1850 U.S. Census||1880 U.S. Census||1920 U.S. Census|
|1860 U.S. Census||1900 U.S. Census||1930 U.S. Census|
|1870 U.S. Census||1910 U.S. Census||1940 U.S. Census|
Step 2. Verify the census information with a comparison of another census year's information.
Find your ancestor in each consecutive census. As you compare the information on each record, it will verify you are tracing the correct family of your ancestor.
Step 3. Search vital record collections to verify and collect addtional information.
- Search www.FamilySearch.org in the Kentucky collections.
- Search other websites at your local Family History Center for vital record information. Start with www.ancestryinstitution.com .
Step 4. Compare what you found with information in FamilySearch Family Tree
Search for the new names found in other records.
Check for and merge any duplicates found.
Connect any individuals or families to your family.
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2013, at 21:22.
- This page has been accessed 770 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More