User:National Institute sandbox 8JEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

 
National Institute for Genealogical StudiesNational Institute for Genealogical Studies.gif

The original content for this article was contributed by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies in April 2013. It is an excerpt from their course Canadian: Vital Statistic Records - Part 1  by Sharon L. Murphy. The Institute offers over 200 comprehensive genealogy courses for a fee ($).

Contents

Locating the Registrations of Vital Statistics After the Public Domain Cut-off Dates

For registrations of more current events, you must contact the Registrar General in Thunder Bay. They will forward an application form to be completed. This will give you the information necessary to determine if you qualify for access to these records as well as the current costs. You can find information and downloadable forms at their website.


Office of the Registrar General
P.O. Box 4600
189 Red River Road, 3rd Floor
Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 6L8
Telephone: 416-325-8305
Toll free in Ontario: 1-800-461-2156

Archives of Ontario
134 Ian Macdonald Blvd.
Toronto, Ontario M7A 2C5
Telephone: 416-327-1600
Toll-Free in Ontario: 1-800-668-9933
Email: reference@ontario.ca

Genealogical Societies

Thirty-two regional branches make up the Ontario Genealogical Society. They each hold meetings, sponsor speakers and workshops, create and hold documents that are often not available anywhere else, and field queries from afar. In general, the local genealogy or family history society knows how to access people with knowledge you are seeking and where to look for records you need. They are regarded as having much expertise for the local area. A “branch locator” tool is available. It also identifies special interest groups within the Ontario Genealogical Society.

Ontario Genealogical Society
40 Orchard View Boulevard, Suite 102
Toronto, Ontario M4R 1B9 Telephone: 416-489-0734
Email: [mailto: provoffice@ogs.on.ca provoffice@ogs.on.ca]

Réseau du Patrimoine Franco-Ontarien
2445, boulevard St-Laurent, Pièce B181
Ottawa, Ontario K1G 6C3
Telephone: 613-729-5769
Toll-free: 1-866-307-9995

There are many smaller or independent genealogical societies across Ontario. For a list and contact information, consult: Genealogy in Ontario: Searching the Records, 4th edition, by Brenda Dougall Merriman (Toronto: Ontario Genealogical Society, 2008).

Church Records

Anglican Church

Anglican Church Archives
Anglican Diocese of Toronto Archives
135 Adelaide Street East
Toronto, Ontario M5C 1L8
Telephone: 416-363-6021, ext. 219
Toll Free: 1-800-668-8932

The Anglican Diocese of Toronto was founded in 1839 and the first Synod organized in 1853. A published guide to their collection is available: Guide to the Holdings of the Ecclesiastical Province of Ontario.

Anglican Diocese of Algoma Synod Archives
Arthur A. Wishart Library, Algoma University
1520 Queen St. East
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 2G4
Telephone: 705-949-2101

Anglican Diocese of Huron Archives
Huron University College
1349 Western Road
London, Ontario N6G 1H3
Telephone: 519-645-7956
Email: archives@huron.anglican.ca

Anglican Diocese of Keewatin Archives
915 Ottawa Street, P.O. Box 567
Keewatin, Ontario P0X 1C0
Telephone: 807-547-3353
Email: dioceseofkeewatin@gokenora.com

Anglican Diocese of Moosonee Archives
Laurentian University Archives
Sudbury, Ontario P3E 2C6
Telephone: 705-675-1151 ext. 3306
Email: archives@laurentian.ca

Anglican Diocese of Niagara Archives
William Ready Division of Archives and Research Collections
McMaster University Libraries, 1280 Main Street West
Hamilton, Ontario L8S 4L6
Telephone: 905-525-9140 ext. 22079
Email: archives@mcmaster.ca

Anglican Diocese of Ontario Archives
90 Johnson Street
Kingston, Ontario K7L 1X7
Telephone: 613-544-4774 ext. 28

Anglican Diocese of Ottawa Archives
Christ Church Cathedral
420 Sparks Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1R 0B2
Telephone: 613-232-7124 ext 234
Email: archives@ottawa.anglican.ca

United Church Archives

The United Church of Canada Archives holds a number of local church records of the United Church and its uniting denominations (Methodist, Congregational, Presbyterian (1925 union); and Evangelical United Brethren—joined in 1968). The records of the churches which did not join at union but remained part of the continuing Presbyterian Church in Canada after 1925 are held in the Presbyterian Church Archives; see address listed below. Geographic Distribution: For the above denominations, this Archives holds local church records for the five Ontario Conferences with headquarters in Ontario (excluding the counties of Carleton, Dundas, Glengarry, Grenville, Prescott, Russell and Stormont—which are part of the Montréal/Ottawa Conference; and Cambrian Presbytery in northwestern Ontario—part of the Manitoba and Northwest Conference; and including three churches in Noranda, Val d’Or and Temiskaming, Québec). Other United Church local church records are available in Conference archives across Canada; the addresses of these are at the end of each appropriate Provincial Chapter.

United Church of Canada Archives
(as of September 16, 2013)
40 Oak Street, Lower Level
Toronto, Ontario M5A 2C6
Email: archives@united-church.ca

Montréal and Ottawa Conference Archives
City of Ottawa Archives
1st floor, Bytown Pavilion, 111 Sussex Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1N 1J1
Telephone: 613-580-2424 ext. 13333

Presbyterian Church

Presbyterian Church in Canada Archives
Presbyterian Church in Canada Archives and Records Office
50 Wynford Drive
Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J7
Telephone: 416-441-1111 ext. 310

Roman Catholic Archives

Each diocese is responsible for the records within its boundaries. Most registers of baptism, marriage, burial and confirmation have been microfilmed up to about 1910 and are available through FamilySearch Centers.

The exceptions are the Hamilton Diocese and parts of Alexandria-Cornwall. The various archives may hold original old parish registers and/or the microfilm copies. They should always be contacted in advance regarding their holdings, hours and appointments.

Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Alexandria-Cornwall
P.O. Box 1388, 220 Chemin Montréal
Cornwall, Ontario K6H 5V4
Telephone: 613-933-1138

Roman Catholic Diocese of Hamilton Library and Archives
700 King Street West
Hamilton, Ontario L8P 1C7
Telephone: 905-528-7988

Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Hearst
P.O. Box 1330
Hearst, Ontario P0L 1N0
Telephone: 705-362-4903

Archives of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Kingston
390 Palace Road
Kingston, Ontario K7L 4T3
Telephone: 613-548-4461

Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of London
1070 Waterloo Street
London, Ontario N6A 3Y2
Telephone: 519-433-0658

Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Moosonee
P.O. Box 40
Moosonee, Ontario P0L 1Y0
Telephone: 705-336-2908

Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Ottawa
1247 Kilborn Place
Ottawa, Ontario K1H 6K9
Telephone: 613-738-5025

Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Pembroke
P.O. Box 7, 188 Renfrew Street
Pembroke, Ontario K8A 6X1
Telephone: 613-732-7933

Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Peterborough
P.O. Box 175, 350 Hunter Street West
Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6Y8
Telephone: 705-745-5123

Roman Catholic Diocese of St. Catharines Archives
P.O. Box 875
St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 6Z4
Telephone: 905-684-0154

Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Sault Ste. Marie
30, chemin Ste-Anne
Sudbury, Ontario P3C 5E1
Telephone: 705-674-2727

Archives of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Thunder Bay
1222 Reaume Street, P. O. Box 10400
Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 6T8
Telephone: 807-343-9313 ext. 243

Archdiocese of Toronto Archives
Catholic Pastoral Centre
1155 Yonge Street, Suite 505
Toronto, Ontario M5T 1W2
Telephone: 416-934-3400 ext. 501

Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Timmins
65 Jubilee Avenue East
Timmins, Ontario P4N 5W4
Telephone: 705-267-6224

Jewish Archives

Ontario Jewish Archives
4600 Bathurst Street
Toronto, Ontario M2R 3V2
Telephone: 416-635-2883 ext. 5170

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada

Eastern Synod Archives (Ontario, Quebec, and the Maritimes)
74 Weber Street West
Kitchener, Ontario N2H 3Z3
Telephone: 519-743-1461

Note: Some early records are kept at:
Wilfred Laurier University Library
75 University Avenue West
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3C5
Telephone: 519-884-0710 ext. 3999
Appointment necessary

Mennonite Archives of Ontario

Mennonite Archives of Ontario
Conrad Grebel University College
140 Westmount Rd. N.
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3G6
Telephone: 519-885-0220

Moravian Archives

Moravian Archives
41 West Locust Street
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania USA 18018
Telephone: 610-866-3255

Quaker

Quaker Archives and Library of Canada
Pickering College
16945 Bayview Avenue
Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 4X2
Telephone: 905-895-1700 ext. 247

Records have been microfilmed and are also available at the Archives of Ontario and the University of Western Ontario in London.

Baptist

Canadian Baptist Archives
Divinity College
McMaster University
Hamilton, Ontario L8S 4K1
Telephone: 905-525-9140 ext. 23511
By appointment only

No infant baptisms, very limited marriage records.


_____________________________________________________________________


Information in this Wiki page is excerpted from the online course Canadian: Vital Statistic Records - Part 1 offered by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. To learn more about this course or other courses available from the Institute, see our website. We can be contacted at wiki@genealogicalstudies.com

We welcome updates and additions to this Wiki page.

Category:Canada

  • This page was last modified on 8 April 2014, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,253 times.