User:ScotgenealogistEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Gallery header 1.jpg


Our Scots Genealogy Research - retracing your ancestors' footsteps.


About Jo Graham FSA Scot

I'm a professional genealogist and the founder of Our Scots Genealogy Research in Edinburgh, Scotland.

I am an experienced and enthusiastic family historian with access to the original Scottish family history records which are held centrally in Edinburgh, many of which are not available online.  

Whether you need in-depth complex research, help with a brick wall, or a document or two to complete your family history records, I can help.  I also do talks and presentations on Scottish family history on a regular basis, and teach classes on-site in Edinburgh at New Register House, which gives those who attend an opportunity to DIY (do it themselves), but with me on-hand to offer a few pointers, if needed.  

If you're intending to visit Scotland and might need a guiding hand with getting started on your ancestral research, we can arrange to meet up for a chat and make a date to get started.


Records

I can access birth, death, marriage and census records; Old Parish Registers; Wills & Testaments; Kirk Session Minutes; records of Court cases; monumental inscriptions; Post Office directories; old newspapers and many more.


Repositories

I most frequently carry out Scottish genealogical research in the following repositories: New Register House, National Records of Scotland, National Library of Scotland, Edinburgh City Council Archives, the Scottish Genealogy Society and many local archives centres. I can also travel to specific repositories on your behalf, such as the University of St Andrews, the Mitchell Library, Glasgow.


Memberships

Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland
The Association of Professional Genealogists
The Scottish Genealogy Society
Global Alliance of Genealogy Professionals


Contact details

Email:  jog@ourscots.com
Visit my website at Our Scots Genealogy Research
Tel: +441316542530
My blog:  Images Past - my old photos and family history.
Follow me on Twitter @scotgenealogist, Facebook, Google+, LinkedIn
Scotland representative for Global Alliance of Genealogy Professionals
  • This page was last modified on 20 August 2012, at 15:16.
  • This page has been accessed 913 times.