Uster parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Uster parish

Guide to Uster parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Uster

The current settlements and quarters of the parish of Uster were divided into the civil municipalities of Freudwil, Kirch-Uster, Nänikon, Nieder-Uster, Nossikon, Ober-Uster, Riedikon, Sulzbach, Wermatswil, Werrikon, and Winikon, and are listed by those divisions below:

Freudwil

Feld

Freudwil

Haldengut

Kirch-Uster

Dietenrain
Eichlisacker
Hölzli

Kirch-Uster
Lehmgrube
Mühleholz

Rehbühl
Steinbruch
Totenweid

Nänikon

Bühl
Einfang
Hagenrain

Linde
Nänikon mit Buchrain
Neuhaus

Schleife
Sonnenheim
Vogelsang und Zelgli

Nieder-Uster

Fuchsbühl
Haagacker
Halde

Jungholz
Krämeracker
Nieder-Uster

Schifflände
Seefeld
Zelg

Nossikon

Aegerstenried
Blindenholz
Brunnacker

Buchhalde
Loch

Nossikon
Sonnenberg

Ober-Uster

Frohnacker
Gern
Grubacker
Hägetstall
Hegetsberg

Kleinwies
Kopbach
Landgricht
Ober-Uster
Pfisterberg

Regetsch
Spinnerei Trümpler
Tal
Weinhalde

Riedikon

Bergli
Brächlig
Ehretshalde

Eicheracker
Hütte
Kies

Riedikon
Seewig
Ziegelei

Sulzbach

Bühlweid
Klus
Kluszelg

Neufuhr
Rotenrain
Spitzacker

Sulzbach
Trimuelen
Walke

Wermatswil

Halde

Weingarten

Wermatswil

Werrikon

Bösch
Daumberg

Glattenried
Steinbruch

Tännberg
Werrikon

Winikon

Brandschenke
Gschwader

Gutschür
Haselrain

Schattenacker
Winikon

Surrounding Parishes

Fehraltorf
Gossau
Greifensee
Maur
Mönchaltorf
Pfäffikon
Seegräben
Volketswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Uster:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 399
1637 1185142 1 565
1640 1185148 1 455
1643 1185146 2 311
1647 1185146 2 155
1649 1185149 1 949
1657 1185179 1 77
1663 1185179 2 333
1670 1185154 2 257
1682 1185159 2 79
1689 1185163 2 749
1694 1185167 1 1331
1709 1185169 2 403
1722 1185178 1 463

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Uster families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Uster prior to 1875:

Aeberli
Affeltranger (1855, from
    Germany)
Altorfer
Bachofen
Bachofen (1829, from
    Weisslingen)
Baumgartner
Berchtold
Bleibler (1816, from
    Germany)
Boller (1862, from Egg)
Bosshard
Bosshard (1830, from
    Pfäffikon)
Bosshardt
Brachsler
Brodbeck (1866, from
    Eschenz)
Brunner
Bruppacher
Bünzli
Daniel
Denzler
Egli
Ehrismann
Ehrismann (1852, from
    Grüningen)
Fischer

Fluck (1847, from
    Wildberg)
Flunser
Frei
Ganz (1845)
Grimm
Gujer / Guyer
Gyr
Hämig / Hämmig
Hager
Hecker (1845, from
    Germany)
Herter
Heusser
Hirzel
Hoffmann
Hofmann
Homberger
Hotz
Hotz (1855, from
    Grüningen)
Hürlimann
Jäger
Kappeler
Keller
Kettner (1844, from
    Germany)
Knüsli
Krauer

Küderli
Künzli
Kuhn
Leemann
Manz
Meier
Meili (1835, from
    Bäretswil)
Messikommer
Morf
Müller
Ochsner
Ochsner (1839, from
    Illnau)
Oehninger
Pfenninger
Pfister
Reicherter (1851, from
   Hinwil)
Ritter
Rüegg
Sallenbach
Schätti
Schlumpf
Schmid
Schneebeli (1830, from
    Hinwil)
Schneider
Schrai

Senn
Spörri (1821)
Spörri (1859, from
    Sternenberg)
Stadler (1853, from
    Germany)
Stauber
Steiner
Stiefel
Suter
Temperli
Tritt (1854, from
    Germany)
Weber
Wegmann
Weilenmann
Weiss (1839, from
    Töss)
Wettstein (1857)
Wild
Wild (1834, from
    Bäretswil)
Winkler
Wintsch (1862, from
    Volketswil)
Wohlwend
Würgler
Zollinger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 14:52.
  • This page has been accessed 359 times.