Västernorrland County, Sweden GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Västernorrland County, Sweden)

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSweden Gotoarrow.pngVästernorrland County

Guide to Västernorrland County, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

Image of county shield here.



Västernorrland County was created in 1654 by combining Härnösand County and Hudiksvall County. In 1658 Jämtland and Härjedalen were ceded to becoming part of Trondheims County. They were reunited with Västernorrland in 1660. In 1762 the County was divided into two parts. The southern part became Gävle County. The northern part continued to be Västernorrland County with Sundsvall as its capital until 1778 when Härnösand took over this role.

The County letter for Västernorrland is: Y


  • Maps
  • Västernorrland Word List


  • Arnäs tingslag
  • Boteå tingslag
  • Gudmundrå tingslag
  • Medelpads härad
  • Medelpads västra domsaga
  • Njurunda tingslag
  • Nora tingslag
  • Nordingrå tingslag
  • Nätra tingslag
  • Ramsele tingslag
  • Resele tingslag
  • Selångers tingslag
  • Själevads tingslag
  • Sollefteå tingslag
  • Säbrå tingslag


  • (Latest news for research in Västernorrland here)


  • Archives
  • Economy
  • Geography
  • Historical Timeline
  • Language
  • Military
FamilySearch Indexing
FamilySearch Forums


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 21:39.
  • This page has been accessed 5,533 times.