Varaldsøy, Hordaland, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Varaldsøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Næss, Anders and Kolltveit, Olav, Strandebarm og Varaldsøy i gamal og ny tid, Kvam : Utgjeve av Kvam Herad, 1981. A history of Strandebarm and Varaldsøy in Strandebarm clerical district in Hordaland county with a genealogy of the people and their farms. There are 70 corrections in volume two of this new edition. FHL 948.32/S6 H2n 1981 A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.32-S6 H2n V2 Strandebarm og Varaldsøy.pdf
|The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below.|
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
16 Aakre 30 Askesletten 3 Bertun 5 Eikeneset 1 Femsteinevik 32 Flugedal 6 Furhovde 20 Færgevaagen 18 Gjerde ytre 20 Gjuvsland 5 Gravdal 2 Grønevik 4 Haalen 9 Haugstveit 22 Haukaas store 15 Haukenes 31 Hisdalen 28 Kjærevik 10 Leirstein 7 Mundheim 11 Nes 12 Nærnes 29 Sandvik 4 Sauehaalen 21 Skjelnes 27 Svinland 8 Torgestveit 25 Traa ytre 5 Trappene 20 Træet 23 Træet 25 Træet 9 Tveit midtre 23 Tveit ytre 26 Vaage nedre 24 Vaage øvre 4 Vestervik 17 Øfsthus 19 Øie 13 Øierhavn 14 Øineteigene
For a larger list of farms, click below, then click again on the next link:
1668-1887: Records are found in Sunnhordaland judicial district.
1695-1852: For those farms, which were under the Rosendal Estate, records are found in Hardanger og Voss judicial district.
1690-1877: Clerical probate records are found in Sunnhordaland Deanery.
- This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 21:20.
- This page has been accessed 1,081 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News