Venjan parish, Sweden GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Venjan parish, Sweden)

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngKopparberg County Gotoarrow.png Venjan parish

Guide to Venjan parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden



In 1607 this parish was created from Mora parish. On Oct. 7, 1885 the parish was divided into 2 church registration areas called Venjan and Sörömsjön. In 1975 the registration areas were dissolved.

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1988 Venjan, 1989- Mora
Län 1631-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1778 Mora, Venjan and Särna, 1779-1842 Mora, Sollerö, Venjan and Särna, 1843-1893 Mora, Sollerö and Venjan, 1894-1947 Mora, 1948-1970 Mora and Orsa
Domsaga 1687-1875 Östra, later called Österdalarne, 1876-1970 Ovansiljan, 1971- Mora
Fögderi 1720-1966 Ovansiljan, 1967- Mora
Länsmansdistrikt -1917 Venjan
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Mora
Kommun 1863-1970 Venjan, 1971- Mora
Militär indelning Dal-regementet: Mora Kompani, Dalregementet: Mora kompani
FamilySearch I.D. 6373139
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11685

Place Names

Gjefvunda, Grufvan, Gävunda,
Johannisholms Bruk,
Kättbo, Knås,
Västbygge Fjärding.

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


(write information about the different collections, or tips on using them)

  • Church Records

  • Court Records

  • Military Records

Related Sources

  • Digital

  • Printed

Societies and Libraries


Venjan parish, Husförhörslängd AI:11a and 11b, 1838-1848, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Venjan Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011

Skatteverket. "Venjan." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). March 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2015, at 21:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,114 times.