Vermont Archives and LibrariesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Many archives and libraries have resources such as maps, gazetteers, and other place-finding aids to help you locate information about Vermont. They may have collections of previous research, such as family and local histories and biographies. Many have record-finding aids such as guides to their own collections or inventories of records housed elsewhere in the state.
Vermont State Archives
1078 Route 2, Middlesex
Montpelier, Vermont 05633-7701
National Archives Northeast Region (Boston)
380 Trapelo Road
Waltham, Massachusetts 02452-6399
Telephone: 781-663-0144 or toll free: 866-406-2379
The National Archives—Northeast Region (Boston) has records created by federal agencies in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. The archives has microfilms of all available federal census records, many naturalization records, passenger arrival lists, military records, and other historical resources. Learn more.
Vermont History Center
Vermont Historical Society
60 Washington Street
Barre, VT 05641
Guides to the manuscript and miscellaneous collections of the Vermont Historical Society:
- Brigham, Loriman S. Guide to the "Miscellaneous File" of Uncatalogued Material in the Vermont Historical Society: With a Supplementary Index to the Guide. Montpelier, Vermont: n.p.,1969. FHL book 974.3 A3b; film 908069, item 20; fiche 6046847 At various libraries (WorldCat). This card index of persons, places, and subjects includes family histories and court, business, and land records. The family histories listed may have genealogies, pictures, military records, financial family papers, and correspondence.
- Brigham, Loriman S. A Calendar of Manuscripts in Certain Boxes at the Vermont Historical Society. Montpelier, Vermont: n.p., 1970. FHL book 974.3 A3br; film 908503 item 1 At various libraries (WorldCat). This is a continuation of the above guide.
- Brigham, Loriman S. A Calendar of Manuscripts in Document Boxes at the Vermont Historical Society. Montpelier, Vermont: n.p., 1972. FHL book 974.3 A3bri; film 908503 item 2 This is a continuation of the above guide.
Vermont Department of Libraries
109 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609
Special Collections Bailey/Howe Library
University of Vermont
538 Main Street
Burlington, VT 05405-0036
Bennington Museum Research Library
75 Main Street
Bennington, Vermont 05201-2885
Vermont French-Canadian Genealogical Society
PO Box 65128
Burlington, Vermont 05406-5128
Founded in 1996, they publish Links, a semiannual journal. They have a library and research facilities at Dupont Hall at the Fort Ethan Allen complex, Colchester, Vermont.
New England Historic Genealogical Society Library
99 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116-3007
The Research Library is national in scope. Learn more.
Family History Library
35 North West Temple Street
Salt Lake City, Utah 84150
The Family History Library of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints houses a collection of genealogical records that include names of more than three billion deceased people. It’s the largest collection of its kind in the world. Collections include digitized historical records, microfilms and microfiche, books, maps, and much more. Explore at FamilySearch.org.
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. These local centers are staffed by volunteers and have varying hours and resources so call to verify their hours in advance.
Some Vermont Family History Centers:
- Montpelier Vermont Family History Center
224 Hersey Road
- South Royalton Vermont Family History Center
113 LDS Land
South Royalton, Vermont
- Essex Vermont Family History Center
73 Essex Way
- Rutland Vermont Family History Center
637 N Shrewsbury Road
North Clarendon, Vermont
- A Guide to Vermont’s Repositories. Montpelier, Vermont: Vermont State Archives, 1986. FHL book 974.3 A3g At various libraries (WorldCat) This guide gives addresses, phone numbers, brief descriptions of holdings, years covered, hours, copying facilities, and whether they accept mail-in requests. It includes an index.
- Basic Sources for Vermont Historical Research. Montpelier, Vermont: Secretary of State, 1981? (Family History Library 974.3 A1 no.44.) At various libraries (WorldCat This guide provides names of officers, addresses, telephone numbers, hours, and brief descriptions of collections and services at six repositories in Vermont.
- Leclerc, Michael J., editor. Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research. Boston, Massachusetts : New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012. FHL book 974 D27g 2012 At various libraries(WorldCat)
Vermont Online Records
You can find computerized research tips and information about ancestors from New Jersey in a variety of sources at local, state, national, and international levels. The list of sources is growing rapidly. Much of the information is available at little or no cost. Addresses on the Internet are subject to frequent changes. The following sites are important gateways linking you to many more sites:
VTGenWeb - a cooperative effort by many volunteers to list genealogical databases, libraries, bulletin boards, and other resources available on the Internet for each county, state, and country
CyndisList - a major portal linking to a variety of family history sites
- This page was last modified on 1 September 2015, at 21:53.
- This page has been accessed 4,935 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News