Victoria, AustraliaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Victoria, Australia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|News and Events|
Getting started with Victorian research
Numerous articles are available on FamilySearch Wiki to help you get started in family history. This portal will provide links to articles about general research topics.
- Identify What You Know
- Decide What You Want to Learn
- Select Records to Search
- Obtain and Search the Records
- Use the Information
Ashworth, Phyllis G. Entries From George Keane Johnston's Bible. Genealogy of George Keane Johnston, originally at Co. Leitrim, marries and lives in Cork, and emigrates to Victoria Australia between 1851-1856. Genealogy covers 1817-1887, article in The Irish Ancestor vol.III. no. 2, 1971 page 84. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i
Macaboy, Stirling. The Co. Cork Ancestry of the Maddens of Travancore, Melbourne, Australia. Genealogy of Margaret McOboy, and John Madden and their descendants, who emigrated from Co. Cork to Melbourne, Australia. Photographs in article of the family in 1872, including all the names, and one of John Madden 1817-1902. Covers years 1215-1981. The Irish Ancestor, vol. XVI, no. 1. 1984. pages 14-20, FHL Ref. 941.5 B2i
Zrna, Bronwyn. Some Welshmen In Victoria Australia in 1888. A list of Welshmen living in Victoria in 1888. It gives name, year of birth, County of origin and year of arrival. Article covers years 1819-1888, in journal, Hel Achau, #15, Spring 1985, pages 19-20, Family History Library Ref. 943.93 D25h
Humphreys, Margaret. From Ruthin to the Australian Goldfields. Robert Humphreys married Mary Ann Jones in 1851 at Ruthin. They emigrated to Victoria, Australia where they riased their family under most difficult circumstances. Illustrated with facsimilies of a birth certificate of their first child William and death certificates for Robert and Mary Ann. Article covers period 1851-1898, and is to be found in Family History Magazine Hel Achau, vol. 103, December 2009, pages 34-37, Family History Library Ref. 942.93 D25h
Perrin, Peg. From Portsmouth to Victoria. Charles James Bryant. 1830-1898. A description of Charles and his life in Maldon, Victoria, Australia, sadly losing 3 wives. Article is in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XV,no2, Aug. 1988, pages 94-95, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Benwell, R.G. From Basingstoke to Ballarat. The family tree of William Benwell who married Elizabeth Allee, in 1801, with their descendants showing family emigrating to Ballarat, Victoria, Australia, in 1949, and the children born in Australia. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XX111, part 1, May 1996, page 49, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Hart, Marie. Early Birds (A brief summary) Summary of the descendants of John Hynsbey, whose daughter Mary married John Bunnett of Mildenhall. The descendants move to Gt. Cressingham, and one branch to Don, Scotland, Tasmania, and Melbourne, Australia. Article is dated from 1741-1893, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 7, pt 11, Dec. 1995, pages 462-463. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol7, n.6-13
Siede, Betty. Starting a New Life and a Sad Ending. History of Elijah Eastick, son of John Eastick and Ann Marie Graves: Elijah and Frances nee Sewells, emigrate to Victoria, Australia in 1852. Other surnames are: Coulson, Reynolds, Leyshon, Dister, Jacobsen, and Bryce. Article dates 1825-1888 and is in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 2, pt. 5. new series, page 290-292, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j v2. pt5.
Hanson, Marjorie. Does Hannah Ring a Bell. History, photos and family of John Bainbridge and Ann Hodgson, with the following surnames: Stevens, Burfort, Bell, Mellish, Greene, Livermore, Burford. Family moved around Gateshead, Morland, Carlisle, Newcastle, with a branch emigrating to Australia, Ballarat, in 1852. Article in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol.35,no2, pages 43-46. Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo v.35, no2. (summer 2010
In Victoria there are 79 councils that provide local government for a specific geographical area within the State. These local councils are considered a separate tier of government in addition to Federal and State governments.
In Victoria, councils are established and operate under various State Government laws, including the Constitution Act 1975 and the Local Government Act 1989.
These councils vary in geographical size and population. They are responsible for providing and maintaining public buildings, and services to their communities. See the following link for a list of the respective local councils.
The State Library of Victoria has published several family history research guides covering adoption, beginners, ships, WW1 soldiers and more.
- (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
Interested in editing or adding to the Wiki? The Victoria page needs you! Here are some simple ways you can add information other researchers need!
Family History Feast Day is a day of free information sessions for family history researchers. It is held annually during National Family History Week and includes the Victorian Association of Family History Organisations 'Don Grant' Lecture. Discover the major Victorian government agencies for genealogical research and how they can help with your family history research.
The event is organised jointly by the Public Record Office Victoria, National Archives of Australia (Victorian office), Victorian Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages and the State Library of Victoria.
Clicking on the above link will enable you to listen to a selection of the 2010 Family History Feast (FHF) lectures; following is a listing of some of the lectures available.
Geoffrey Blainey on family history
Philip Thiel on genealogy & creative nonfiction
Peter Gloury on Victoria's recorded history
Kim Burrell on the National Archives of Australia
Sandra Burt on archives for family historians
Joan Hunt on finding family on the goldfields
Patricia Grimshaw on women and family history
Geelong Heritage Centre archive
PROV online and in person
Mark Brennan on archives and migration
Things You Can Do
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
- This page was last modified on 12 November 2015, at 00:03.
- This page has been accessed 10,290 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News