Waimea Hawaii Family History CenterEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.

Waimea Family History Center serves the communities of Waimea, Kawaihae and Waikoloa and any others that desire to come to our center. We have a staff of 8-10 workers anxious to help you find your ancestors.

Contents

Center Contacts and Hours

Location & Map:

  • 5 Kapiolani St  Kamuela HI 96743  United States
  • Family History Center is located just inside the large double doors on the side of the church building nearest Lindsey Rd. Please knock on the outside doors if they are not open.  We welcome all community patrons. We are happy to help with any Family History research including Hawaiian Homeland qualification.
  • Location on Map

Phone: 1 808-885-4684

E-mail: hi_waimea@ldsmail.net

Open Hours:

  • Tuesday     9 am - 1pm   6pm - 8pm
  • Wednesday  5:30pm - 8pm
  • Thursday    9:00 am - 1:00 pm

Holiday Schedule

  • Closed for the month of July
  • Closed for state and national holidays

Center Resources

Collections

  • Family History Library Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the Family History Library Catalog.
  • We have a good selection of films with Hawaiian birth, death and marriage records  as well as several films of histories recorded in earlier years.

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. 

Hardware and Equipment

  • We have 6 computers that are connected to the Internet, FHC Portal and Printer access. We also have film readers and a microfiche reader.  We do not have a film scanner or film printer so recommend that you bring a digital camera if you would like images from films.

Center Services

Staff Research Specialties

We have several consultants that have experience with Hawaiian Genealogy and other general genealogy fields


Links

Hawaii State USGenWeb  

Hawaii Cemetery Project

Hawaii State Archives Digital Collections -- Includes Mahale Books, Vital Statistics, Passenger lists and more.

Ulukau Hawaiian Electronic Library -- Index or early Hawaiian marriages, citizenship  and court records.

State of Hawaii Newspaper Obituaries 1993-2010

HeritageQuest- US census records, books and histories. You can access these records using your Hawaii State Library card to log in through the Hawaii State Library website


Volunteer at the Center

(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 March 2014, at 14:52.
  • This page has been accessed 494 times.