Wallasey, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Wallasey

Guide to Wallasey, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Hilary Church Wallasey.jpg
St Hilary - A Church With Two Towers.jpg

Contents

Parish History 

WALLASEY (St. Hilary), is a parish, in the union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, South division of the county of Chester; containing, with the villages of Egremont and New Brighton, the township of Seacombe with Poolton, and the township of Liscard.  The church, bears date 1560, stands in the centre of the parish: it was enlarged in 1837. There were two other churches prior to the Dissolution, appropriated to Birkenhead Abbey.[1]

St Hilary's Church, Wallasey is an Ancient Parish in the town of Wallasey, Wirral, Merseyside, England . It consists of a church built in 1858–59. The first church is thought to have been built in Saxon times it is thought that a new church was built between 1162 and 1182 by William de Waley.


A church has been on this site since before 902 AD when the Vikings named the hamlet here Kirby in Walea - 'the village with the church on the island of the foreigners'.
There are only eight churches in Britain named after the French Bishop of Poitiers, St Hilary, who fought against early heresies and contributed to the Council of Nicea in 325 AD and the Nicene Creed.
The present church is at least the sixth one on the site, with an older tower (1530) standing alone in the churchyard which had been part of two earlier churches. The fifth church burnt down in 1857.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241254.

Church records

Wallasey St Hilary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Wallasey St Hilary Parish (1574) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1686-1901
1685-1903

FS PR's 1574-1909
  NONE
1574-1925
  NONE
1574-1946
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1877
  NONE
1600-1836
  NONE
1600-1878
  NONE

New Brighton registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NEW BRIGHTON Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1888-1906


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Wallasey, St. Hilary (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Liscard, Poulton cum Seacombe and Wallasey. Registers of Baptisms 1574–1993, Marriages 1574–1988 and burials 1574–1946 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. The parish church is also known as St. Hillary's Church.
Cheshire Record Office Call Numbers: P302/4484/5-9, 16-17; P302/5998/1-4, 8-14.

Parish Register FHL Film
churchwardens' accounts, 1653-1683. Marriages, 1574-1675; 1685-1742, 1744-1753. Baptisms, 1574-1594, 1602-1666, 1670-1676, 1689-1841. Burials, 1574-1676, 1685-1742; 1744-1812. BRITISH 1737059 Items 4 - 8
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1594-1812. BRITISH 90135
Baptisms, 1841-1901. Marriages, 1754-1870. BRITISH 1737060
Marriages, 1870-1903. Banns, 1823-1869. Burials, 1813-1870. BRITISH 1737061
Burials, 1870-1946. BRITISH 1737062 Items 1 - 2
Baptisms, 1901-1930. BRITISH 2262737 Items 5 - 8
Marriages, 1903-1948. VAULT BRITISH 2262738
Marriages, 1941-1957. BRITISH 2356829 Items 2 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for Wallasey, 1600-1878 Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB/208

Bishop's transcripts content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1608-1610,  1616-1617, 1622-1624, 1626-1627, 1630, 1634, 1636, 1658-1660, 1666, 1669-1671, 1673-1674, 1676, 1679-1685, 1689-1690, 1692, 1694-1697, 1699-1705, 1707-1716, 1718-1739, 1741-1745, 1747-1750. BRITISH 1836282 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1750-1773, 1775-1836. Baptisms, burials, 1837-1845. BRITISH 1836285 Item 2
Burials, 1845. Baptisms, burials, 1846-1875. BRITISH 1836286
Burials, 1875, baptisms, burials, 1876-1878. BRITISH 1836287 Item 1

Wallasey, St. Nicholas (C of E), Newport Avenue/Bayswater Road. A parish church since 1911. Registers of Baptisms 1911–1963 and Marriages 1912–2000 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office (no burials).

Cheshire Record Office call number: P267/1/1-2. Marriages, 1912-1926. FHL BRITISH Film 2262947 Items 12 - 13

Leasowe, St. Chad (C of E). Twickenham Drive. A separate parish from 1957, serving parts of Bidston, Hoylake, Moreton and Wallasey.. Registers of Baptisms from 1955 and Marriages from 1958 are held at the church (no burials). Wallasey, St. Saviour, Radnor Drive (Free C of E).

Non-Conformist Churches

Wallasey, Church of the English Martyrs (Roman Catholic), St. George's Road. Founded 1902.

Wallasey, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Brighton Street/Victoria Road. Built in 1839, closed in 1966. Registers of marriages 1902–1964 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Wallasey, Methodist Chapel (New Connexion). Built in 1884, closed in 1935. Registers 1909–1934 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Wallasey, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Claremont Road. Built in 1885, rebuilt in 1910.

Wallasey, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Manor Road. Founded 1893, Built in 1904.

Wallasey, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Oakdale Road. Founded 1899, closed in 1943. Registers 1932–1935 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Wallasey, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Poulton Road. Built in 1904, demolished 1944. Registers 1916–1949 are at the Cheshire Record Office.

Wallasey, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Oxton Road. Founded 1905, rebuilt in 1961.

Wallasey, Presbyterian Chapel. Founded 1877, Built in 1900.

Wallasey, United Reformed Church, Marlowe Road. Built in 1913.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  •   Wirral (1837–61)
  •  Birkenhead (1861–1936)
  •  Wallasey (1936–98)
  •  Wirral (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel R., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 334–338
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 76, ISBN 1871731232

Rhodes, Julian (1999), "St. Hilary, Wallasey, Merseyside", The George Dixon Archive, http://www.ondamar.demon.co.uk/schemes/dixon/wall.htm,

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,742 times.