Wallingford St Mary le More with All Hallows, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wallingford St Mary, Berkshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Wallingford St Mary le More with All Hallows, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wallingford St Mary le More with All Hallows, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Moreton; Wallingford Borough
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wallingford
Registration District Wallingford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1638
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wallingford
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office


Parish History

WALLINGFORD, a borough and market - town, havingexclusivejurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Moreton, county of Berks, 15 miles (N. N. W.) from Reading, and 46 (W. by N.) from London. Wallingford comprises the parishes of All Hallows, St. Leonard, ; St. Mary-le-More, and St. Peter. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of friends, Independents, Calvinists, and Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wallingford St Mary le More with All Hallows, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Wallingford St Mary le More with All Hallows, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1612-1919
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Society of Friends/Quaker is a non-Church of England denomination located somewhere in Wallingford, but the exact parish has not been identified

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241202.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Wallingford St mary le More With All Hallows in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 440-444. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 22 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 21:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,159 times.