Walsham-le-Willows, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Walsham-le-Willows, Suffolk)
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Walsham-le-Willows
Walsham-le-Willows, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackbourn
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Stow PLU
Registration District Stow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackbourn
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WALSHAM-LE-WILLOWS (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stow, hundred of Blackbourn, W. division of Suffolk, 4½ miles (E. by N.) from Ixworth. Here are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to and in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Walsham-le-Willows, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Walsham-le-Willows, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1539-1837

FMP 1539-1900 1539-1900 1539-1909
IGI 1538-1839 1558-1837
NBI

1750-1909

Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 444-449. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk Marriage Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 May 2015, at 01:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,302 times.