Walthall County, Mississippi GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Walthall County, Mississippi)

United States Gotoarrow.png Mississippi  Gotoarrow.png Walthall County

Guide to Walthall County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records



Walthall County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Walthall County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 16 March, 1910
County Seat Tylertown
Courthouse
Address Walthall County Courthouse]
PO box 351;
Tylertown, MS 39667
Phone: 601.876.3553
Walthall County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Walthall County Courthouse
PO box 351;
Tylertown, MS 39667
Phone: 601.876.3553

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1914. Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate, court and land records from 1914. [1]

Beginning Dates for Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy Government Records
[[<span class=|Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy#Vital_Records">Birth]] [[<span class=|Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy#Vital_Records">Marriage]] [[<span class=|Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy#Vital_Records">Death]] [[<span class=|Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy#Census">Census]] [[<span class=|Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy#Land_and_Property">Land]] [[<span class=|Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy#Probate_Records">Probate]]

1914


1914
1914

History

Parent County

1910--Walthall County was created 16 March 1910 from Marion and Pike Counties.
County seat: Tylertown [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Compilation of online resources for African American genealogy research by Shannon Gorman. [1]

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Darbun

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Walthall County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Walthall County Mississippi Trust & Historical Society
184 Bethlehem Loop Road
Kokomo, MS 39643
Phone: (601) 731-1219

Southwest Mississippi Genealogy Society
P.O. Box 175
McComb, Mississippi, 39649
Website

Mississippi Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 5301
Jackson, MS 39296
Email: marygschwab@yahoo.com
Withall County Genealogy

See also a list of: Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Walthall County, Mississippi page 383, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2015, at 05:23.
  • This page has been accessed 8,139 times.