Walthamstow, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Walthamstow, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png EssexGotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Walthamstow

Guide to Walthamstow, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Walthamstow, Essex
St Mary Walthamstow Essex.jpg
St Mary Walthamstow Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union West Ham PLU
Registration District West Ham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Walthamstow (St Mary), is a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in West Ham district, Essex. The village stands 1½ miles E of Lea-Bridge railway station, and 6 miles NE of St. Paul's, London. It has a post-office under London. The parish is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of St. Mary, St. James, St. John, and St. Peter. It has three Independent chapels. and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Walthamstow St Mary the Virgin, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives - (£)[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
Walthamstow St Mary the Virgin, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1652-1967 1650-1957 1645-1979
FAMR 1650-1837
PALL 1790-1837

Walthamstow St Barnabas, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Walthamstow St Barnabas, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1901-1961 1903-1957

Walthamstow St Gabriel, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Walthamstow St Gabriel, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1905-1972 1919-1957

Walthamstow St Luke, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Walthamstow St Luke, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1902-1942 1904-1957

Walthamstow St Michael and All Angels, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Walthamstow St Michael and All Angels, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1885-1963 1887-1957

Walthamstow St Paul, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Walthamstow St Paul, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1913-1964 1920-1957

Walthamstow St Saviour, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Walthamstow St Saviour, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1870-1964 1844-1957

Walthamstow St Stephen, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Walthamstow St Stephen, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1878-1951 1882-1957

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Mary See also other churches in the Ancient parish

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241362.


Poor Law Unions

West Ham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'Essex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 19:53.
  • This page has been accessed 5,986 times.