Walthamstow St John, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Walthamstow St John, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Walthamstow St John, Essex|
Walthamstow St John contributor John Salmon
|Poor Law Union||West Ham|
|Registration District||West Ham|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1844|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Walthamstow (St John), is a parish, in the village of Walthamstow, in the West Ham district, Essex. The village stands 1½ miles E of Lea-Bridge railway station, and 6 miles NE of St. Paul's, London. It has a post-office under London. The parish is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of St. James, St. Mary, St. John, and St. Peter. It has three Independent chapels. and a Roman Catholic chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Walthamstow St John, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Walthamstow St John, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241362.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex
- This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 19:54.
- This page has been accessed 2,788 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News