Walton le Soken, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Walton le Soken, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Walton-Le-Soken

Guide to Walton le Soken, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Saints Walton-on-the-Naze contributor Peter Stack.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Walton-Le-Soken, or Walton-on-the-Naze, is a village and a parish in Tendring district, Essex. The village stands on the coast, at the terminus of the Tendring Hundred railway, it is 7½ miles by water south of Harwich; and has a post-office under Colchester, as well as a  railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Walton le Soken, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
Walton le Soken, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1689-1966 1688-1957 1690-1914
FREG 1778-1798, 1805-1812 1813-1837 1778-1798, 1804-1812

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office for Walton All Saints, Station Street Zion Methodist Church, Walton on the Naze United Reformed Church.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 19:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,991 times.