Walworth County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Walworth County, Wisconsin)

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Walworth County

Guide to Walworth County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

WI Walworth.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Walworth County Courthouse
100 W Walworth; PO Box 1001;
Elkhorn, WI 53121
Phone: 262.741.4241 

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1845,
marriage and land records from 1839, death records
from 1872, burial records from 1969, divorce and court
records from 1850 and probate records from 1800’s [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Walworth County was created 7 December 1836 from Milwaukee County.  County seat: Elkhorn [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Boone County, Illinois  • Jefferson  • Kenosha  • McHenry County, Illinois  • Racine  • Rock  • Waukesha

WI WALWORTH.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 Wisconsin State Census Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 Wisconsin State Census Index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church History and Records

Lutheran

Heart Prairie Lutheran Church

  • Records of Heart Prairie Lutheran Church, Walworth County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Spring Prairie

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Spring Prairie, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Walworth County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Walworth County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company K
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies G and L
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company F
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K
- 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- 13th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies C and I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Societies

Walworth County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 159
Delavan 53115-0159
Phone: 608-752-8816
Website

Walworth County Historical Society
PO Box 273
Elkhorn 53121
Website

Whitewater Historical Society
275 N Tratt St
Whitewater, WI 53190
Phone: 262-473-2966
Email:[1]
Website

East Troy Area Historical Society
PO Box 722
East Troy WI 53120
Phone:262-642-9683
Website

Geneva Lake History Buffs
PO Box 522
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Phone262-428-6060

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 760 Walworth, Wisconsin
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2016, at 05:55.
  • This page has been accessed 8,082 times.