Walzenhausen parish, Appenzell, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Walzenhausen parish, Appenzell, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Walzenhausen is located in the eastern foothills of the canton of Appenzell. Walzenhausen lies in a valley that flows toward the southeast to Sankt Margrethen. The lowest point of the parish is at 509 meters above sea level, while the highest is at 947 meters. The area of Walzenhausen (698 hectares, 7 square kilometers, or 2.7 square miles) is divided into:
Residential: 92 hectares (13.1%)
Agriculturally-developed areas: 367 hectares (52.4%)
Forest: 242 hectares (34.4%)
Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell, including Walzenhausen.
Walzenhausen was first mentioned in 1320 as a farm. The protestant parish of Walzenhausen was established in 1638 from the neighboring parish of Sankt Margrethen, and the church took approximately 9 months to build.
Locations within Walzenhausen
Click here for a map showing Walzenhausen in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell.
The parish records for Walzenhausen are now available online from the Appenzell State Archives. They are organized by volume. Click here to access these records.
Walzenhausen was established as a Reformed protestant parish in 1638 from the parish of Sankt Margrethen. Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen) 1638-1870; marriages (Heiraten) 1638-1784 and 1821-1867; and deaths (Toten) 1660-1861. Baptisms 1870-1875, marriages 1784-1820 and 1868-1873, and deaths 1861-1871 are available at the Cantonal Archives in Herisau, Switzerland.
The following family books (Familienbuch) were created in Walzenhausen:
Volume 1 (1762) - household rolls, non-citizens - held in the rectory in Walzenhausen
Volume 2 (1830) - family registers, citizens - available at the FHL here
Volume 3 (1850) - emigration register - held in the rectory in Walzenhausen
Catholics residing in Walzenhausen belonged to the parish of Sankt Margrethen; records begin in 1733.
(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)
The following censuses are available for Walzenhausen. They are cataloged under Sankt Margrethen :
1634 - FHL Film 1,185,140, item 2, beginning on page 849
1637 - FHL Film 1,185,142, item 2, beginning on page 689
1640 - FHL Film 1,185,144, item 1, beginning on page 897
1643 - FHL Film 1,185,147, item 1, beginning on page 883
1646 - FHL Film 1,185,148, item 2, beginning on page 1015
1649 - FHL Film 1,185,150, item 1, beginning on page 579
(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)
The following genealogies have been researched for Walzenhausen families:
Bärlocher family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,091; see also FHL Film 193,467)
Blatter family, by Verla P. Moss (FHL Film 483,562; see also Billeter, FHL Film 128,120)
Keller family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,011; see also FHL Film 193,476)
Künzler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 1,183,714)
Lutz family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,973; see also FHL Film 193,478)
Niederer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,965; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Rohner family, by Verla P. Moss (FHL Film 483,562)
Sturzenegger family, by Verla P. Moss (FHL Film 483,562; see also Billeter, FHL Film 193,485)
Civil registration began in 1876. Walzenhausen belongs to the Vorderland Appenzell civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:
Zivilstandsamt Vorderland Appenzell Ausserrhoden
St. Gallerstrasse 9
CH - 9038 Rehetobel
Tel: +41 71 878 70 20
The following surnames have citizenship in Walzenhausen prior to 1875:
The town's website (in German) can be found here.
Societies and Libraries
Cantonal Archive of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden (in German)
Registry of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos
- This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 17:27.
- This page has been accessed 1,678 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News