Wandell and Lamington, Lanarkshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png LanarkshireGotoarrow.png Wandell and Lamington

Wandell and Lamington (#659)

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Wandell and Lamington.  To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

 

Contents

History

WANDELL and LAMMINGTOUNE, a parish, in the Upper ward of the county of Lanark containing the village of Lammingtoune, 6½ miles (S. W.) from Biggar. These two ancient parishes, which were united in 1608, comprise the baronies of Wandell and Lammingtoune. The parish extends along the banks of the river Clyde. The church, situated on the boundary between the two districts, is a very ancient structure, with a fine Norman doorway; the building was repaired and enlarged in 1828 and contains about 350 sittings.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/ . Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Wandell and Lamington.  Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.

Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Wandell and Lamington.

Below is information for any known surname indexes:

 

Years Surname Index           
1841
1851 941.43/W2 X2m 1851
1861 6205853
1871
1881 6086616
1891

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1656-1660, 1693-1708 1066608
1715-1728, 1738-1854 1066608
Marriages: 1645-1795, 1822-1854 1066608
Deaths: 1702-1799, 1832-1854 1066608

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  Records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.  
Births: Entries for 1656–1660 are intermixed with marriages for 1645–1660 and other matters. There are no entries 1660–1693. Entries for 1693–1702 are on four leaves with marriages for the same period after the intermixed portion, 1660. November 1702–December 1708 intermixed with marriages of November 1702–July 1709 and other matters. Also, there are no entries December 1708–1715 and intermixed with marriages and other matters until 1728. There are no entries 1728–September 1738, from which date until 1783 are intermixed with marriages. After 1783 separate registers are kept.
Marriages: There are no marriage entries September 1795–1822. There is also a record containing entries of proclamation fees, fines for irregular marriages and sums collected at marriages, etc., 1738–1796. Marriages are intermixed 1645–1660, with births for 1656–1660. Entries for 1693–1702 are on four pages with births for the same period after the intermixed portion of 1660. Marriages for November 1702–July 1709 are intermixed with births of November 1702–December 1708 and other matters. There are no entries July 1709–January 1716 and registers are intermixed with other matters until 1728. After 1783, separate registers are kept.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.



Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1738–1756, 1774–1804, 1813
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/404.


Nonconformist Church Records


A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

 

There are none.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Wandell and Lamington was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Lanark until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Glasgow. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Lanark and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Glasgow.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Lanark. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Lanark and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 588-608. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 March 2014.

Return to the Lanarkshire Parish list.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 17:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,196 times.