Wangen parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Wangen parish

Guide to Wangen parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Wangen

Altwiesen
Bäumliacker
Birch
Blattacker
Brüttisellen
Bühlacker
Flugplatz
Flura

Halde
Hätzelwiesen
Hinter-Rüti
Linth-Escher
Neue Reben
Oeniken
Ried
Roswies

Rüti
Schafstall
Schüracker
Stiegenhof
Stutz
Wangen
Weidli

Surrounding Parishes

Bassersdorf
Dietlikon
Dübendorf
Lindau
Volketswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Wangen:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 339
1637 1185142 1 483
1640 1185144 2 213
1643 1185146 2 85
1646 1185148 1 569
1649 1185149 1 859
1657 1185179 1 71
1663 1185179 2 325
1670 1185154 2 195
1678 1185158 1 289
1682 1185159 2 301
1689 1185163 2 649
1694 1185167 1 1235
1699 1185167 1 1253
1710 1185172 1 617
1721 1185178 1 273
1762 1185178 1 291

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Wangen families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Wangen-Brüttisellen belongs to the Dübendorf civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstands- und Bestattungsamt Dübendorf
Usterstrasse 2
8600 Dübendorf

Tel: +41 44 801 83 30

Internet contact can be found here.

email: zivilstandsamt@duebendorf.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Wangen prior to 1875:

Bachmann
Baumberger
Binder
Briner
Bühler
Denzler
Frei (from Rüssikon)
Geisser
Gross
Gsell

Gut
Irminger
Isler
Jucker
Keller
Kündig
Meier
Morf
Müller

Näf
Peier / Peyer
Pfaffhauser
Pfister
Rathgeb (from
    Dietlikon)
Reutlinger
Rümbeli
Schellenberg

Schelling
Schmid
Städeli
Vollenweider
Weber
Wegmann
Winkler
Wintsch
Wyder

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2015, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 355 times.