Wanstead, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wanstead, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Wanstead

Guide to Wanstead, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wanstead, Essex
Wanstead St Mary Essex.jpg
Wanstead St Mary Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union West Ham PLU
Registration District West Ham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Wanstead, a parish, with Walthom Forest village and Snaresbrook hamlet, in West Ham district, Essex; it is on the river Roding, 1½ miles NW of Ilford railway station, and 7 miles NE of London. It has a post-office under NE London. An Independent chapel was built in 1865.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wanstead, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Wanstead, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1640-1898 1640-1953 1640-1992
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

Essex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

St Mary
Overton Drive
Baptisms 1640-1863
Marriages 1641-1838
Burials 1641-1863: ERO

Christ Church
Built 1861 as chapel-of-ease to St Mary

St Gabriel
Aldersbrook Rd
Baptisms 1903- date
Marriages 1914- date: Not deposited

Our Lady of Lourdes
(Roman Catholic)
Cambridge Park
Formed 1919

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241362.


Genealogy

A Second Cousin Twice Removed. A family tree of John Collett Hickey married Mary Ann Hobbins, from 1806-1967, and descendants of Ward, Robinson, Yetton, Henry, Parmetner, Hunter, Buckledee, Kidd, Hackney, listed in the following areas, Shoreditch, Bethnal Green, Walthamstow, Leytonstone, Hackney, Wanstead and Felixstowe. Article in Roots and Branches vol.10.no.3, page 28 FHL Ref. 942.64/F5 D25r

Poor Law Unions

West Ham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 19:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,190 times.