Wantage, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wantage, Berkshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Wantage, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wantage, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wantage
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage PLU
Registration District Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1582
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Canons of Windsor in Wantage; Post-1845 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WANTAGE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a markettown and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Wantage, county of Berks. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wantage, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
Wantage, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK



Undefined
BOYD

1538-1837


FREG 1538-1837
1538-1837


IGI 1538-1812
1538-1837


JOIN

1538-1837


OFHS 1538-1946
1538-1837
1538-1935
TGEN

1538-1837


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241206.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wantage in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 457-461. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Berkshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 4 February 2014.
  6. 'Berkshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  7. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 22 January 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 21:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,843 times.