Warboys, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Warboys, Huntingdonshire)
England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Warboys, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hurstingstone
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union St Ives
Registration District St Ives
Records begin
Parish registers: 1551
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Ives
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Warboys, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Warboys (St. Mary Magdalene), is a parish, in the union of St. Ives, and the hundred of Hurstingstone, Huntingdonshire, 7 miles N E from Huntingdon. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Warboys, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Warboys, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HUNT

1556-1900
NBI

1556-1900

Original church records are available at the Huntindon Records Office. To view the available records, Records click here.

Non-conformist Records

Records of the Church of Christ, gathered at Fenstanton, Warboys, and Hexham, 1644-1720 are available through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The film number is 962419.

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288836.

To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.

  • findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Poor Law Unions

St Ives Poor Law Union, Huntingdonshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Warboys on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 22 August 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 00:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,950 times.