Wardley, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.png Rutland Parishes

Guide to Wardley, Rutland family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Wardley, Rutland
St Botolph Wardley Rutland.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oakham-Soke
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Uppingham PLU
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish records: 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office



Contents

Parish History

WARDLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Uppingham, soke of Oakham, county of Rutland, 4 miles (W. by N.) from Uppingham. [1]

The Victoria County History of Wardley (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Peterborough: Wardley Bap 1574 - 1812, Marr 1574 - 1825, Bur 1574 - 1812

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Uppingham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:51.
  • This page has been accessed 454 times.