Wareham, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Wareham, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Wareham, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Wareham, market town, Dorset, between the Piddle and the Frome, near their influx to a creek of Poole harbour, 15 miles E. of Dorchester and 123½ miles SW. of London. The town comprises parts of the parishes of Wareham Holy Trinity, Wareham Lady St Mary, and Wareham St Martin.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Wareham, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1700
1594
1700
Images
1700-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1979 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1731-1880 Ancestry[6] 1594-1837 Joiner[7]
1594-1837 findmypast[8]

BIVRI includes baptisms from Wareham St Martin 1731-1824, Wareham St Mary 1731-1880, and Wareham Holy Trinity 1731-1824.[9]

Wareham Lady St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[10]
Wareham Lady St Mary Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1594-1847
1731-1880

Wareham St Martin parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Wareham St Martin Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1731-1824
1601-1781

Wareham Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Wareham Holy Trinity Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1597-1781

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241344.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 12 July 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  7. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 4 July 2012.
  8. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  9. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  10. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 20:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,865 times.