Warwick St Mary, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Warwick St Mary, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

{{Infobox England Jurisdictions.
Warwick St Mary, Warwickshire
St Marys warwick .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Warwick
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Warwick PLU
Registration District Warwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1651
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Warwick
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Warwick,is a borough and market-town, it is in the hundred of Kington, Warwickshire, of which it is the chief town. The town comprises the parish of St. Mary, and that of St. Nicholas, and St. Paul. St. Mary's church, was destroyed but rebuilt in 1704. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians; and a Roman Catholic chapel at Hampton Cottage, Grove Park.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Warwick St Mary, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3][4]
Warwick St Mary, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1611-1812 1611-1812 1611-1812 1611-1812 1611-1812 1611-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910 1754-1910 1754-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464188.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 15 July 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 May 2015, at 00:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,737 times.