Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Genealogy

Guide to Warwickshire Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

News and Events
Records from this area are currently being indexed by volunteers. Come join the effort and help us index the Warwickshire Parish Records 1538–1900
Key topics to get started:

Other topics:

Did You Know?
* Please add items of interest
How to edit this sidebar

Warwickshire, Warks or Warwicks, is an inland county located in the mid-section of England.



Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Warwickshire.

Civil Districts

When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Warwickshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes.  The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place.  Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Warwickshire and the parishes covered by each.  Read more about England Civil Registration.


See a list of the parishes of Warwickshire with links to articles.

Probate Jurisdictions

Before 1858, every town and parish in Warwickshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts.  To read more about probate records and see a list of Warwickshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Warwickshire Probate Records.


To view a list of web sites and/or web pages for Warwickshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.

www.warwickshire.gov.uk: Warwickshire County Council. Iincludes: Calendars of Prisoners, 1800-1900, Tithe Apportionments, Victuallers, etc. 

archivesunlocked.warwickshire.gov.uk: Warwickshire Record Office Catalogue

Familyseach.org: Online Warwickshire Parish Registers, 1538-1900

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

England Warwickshire Church of England Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records)

thegenealogist.co.uk: Subscription website but free access in LDS Family History Centers: includes a few directories, school registers, and land owners in 1873.

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Warwickshire Genealogy


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 November 2015, at 00:06.
  • This page has been accessed 12,579 times.