Washington County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Washington County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Washington County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 17, 1836|
Washington County Courthouse
100 East Main Street
Brenham, Texas 77384
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903
marriage records from 1833, probate and land records
District Clerk has divorce records
100 E. Main; Ste 102
100 E. Main; Ste 304
The town of Washington-on-the Brazos was founded in 1830. The creation of Brazos, Burleson and Lee counties led to the relocation of the county seat to Brenham in 1844. The land that became Washington County was part of Stephen F. Austin's Colony.
1836--Washington County was created 17 March 1836 from a Texas Municipality.County seat: Brenham 
See an interactive map of Washington County border changes.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Brenham | Burton | Chappell Hill | Independence | Latium | Muellersville | Phillipsburg | Prairie Hill | Quarry | Washington-on-the-Brazos | Wesley
- Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Atkinson Cemetery ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Bethlehem Cemetery ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Burton Cemetery, Brenham~ transcriptions, photos ~ BillionGraves
- Chappell Hill Masonic Cemetery ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Derrick Family Cemetery ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Reynolds Cemetery ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Sandy Hill Cemetery ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Williams Cemetery ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Texas Escapes Listing of Texas cemeteries with transcriptions and lots of pictures.
- 1850 Federal Census ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1860 Federal Census ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Washington County Church Information ~ Listing of churches in the area
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Martin Lutheran Church, Carmine -Records of Martin Lutheran Church, Carmine, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).*:
- Phillipsburg - Records of the American Lutheran Church, Phillipsburg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- St. Matthew's Lutheran Church, Brenham - Records of St. Matthew's Lutheran Church, Brenham, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of Salem Lutheran Church, Brenham, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Record Book of Conditional Land Grants for Washington County, 1841, from the Portal to Texas History.
Local histories are available for Washington County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Brenham and Washington County, 1915 by Mrs. R. E. Pennington. Digitized book online
- History of Washington County, 1949 by Charles F. Schmidt
- The Blazing Story of Washington County, 1950 by W. O. Dietrich
- Historic Homes of Washington County, 1971 by Betty Cantrell Plummer
- Brenham, Texas, 1844-1958, by Robert A. Hasskarl, Jr.
- A History of Brenham, 1933 by Eula Richardson Hasskarl
- Blue Bell ice cream: a century at the little creamery in Brenham, Texas, 1907-2007, by Dorothy McLeod MacInerney information
- Washington County History from the Handbook of Texas Online
- History of the Jews in Brenham from wikipedia.org
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Washington County, Texas Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Brenham 1873 Panoramic Map from the Amon Carter Museum
- Brenham 1881 Panoramic Map from the Amon Carter Museum
- Washington County 1895 US Atlas
- Washington County 1920 Landowners Map from Historic Map Works
- Washington County 1940 General Highway Map
- Washington County 1961 General Highway Map
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Washington County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- The Portal to Texas History includes a Texas Newspaper collection here: http://texashistory.unt.edu/explore/collections/TDNP/
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by Family Search and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- USGenWeb Census Project Texas 1850 - 1930
Societies and Libraries
Nancy Carol Roberts Memorial Library
100 Martin Luther King Jr Pkwy
Brenham, TX 77833
Phone: (979) 337-7201
Washington County Genealogical Society
211 South Day St., Suite 105
Brenham, TX 77833
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Washington County Archives Project - USGenWeb
- Washington County TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Washington County, Texas. Page 675 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 31 October 2015, at 01:27.
- This page has been accessed 17,853 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News