Wasing, BerkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Wasing

Guide to Wasing, Berkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

WASING (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Newbury, hundred of Faircross, county of Berks, 8 miles (E. S. E.) from Newbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Wasing, Berkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (FindMyPast) - (£).[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Wasing, Berkshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK
Undefined
Undefined
IGI 1730-1812 1731-1808


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241199.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 482-484. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', FindMyPast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:11.
  • This page has been accessed 427 times.