Water Newton, Huntingdonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Water Newton, Huntingdonshire)
England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Water Newton, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Norman Cross
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Peterborough
Registration District Peterborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Yaxley
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Water Newton, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Parish History

Water Newton or Newton-Water, is a village and a parish in the district of Peterborough, Huntingdonshire, ¾ of a mile E of Ermine-street, and 1¼ miles E S E of Wansford railway station.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Water Newton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Water Newton, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1688-1812
1712-1754, 1758-1812, 1815-1839



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288838.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Water Newton on GENUKI


  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 22 August June 2013.
  2. 'Huntingdonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  3. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 18 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 15:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,240 times.