Wawne, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-Y Gotoarrow.png East Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Wawne

Contents

Parish History

WAGHEN, or Wawn (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Beverley, Middle division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York; containing 362 inhabitants, of whom 267 are in the township, 4 miles (S. E. by E.) from Beverley. This parish, including the hamlet of Meux or Meaux, comprises 5600 acres. [1]


This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1653.

Wawne is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.
Other places in the parish include: Melsa and Meaux.

Wawne Parish Records begin 1653 Bishops Trancrepts 1598

Non-Church of England denominations identified in Wawne include: Independent/Congregational and Methodist New Connexion.



Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Wawne exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AO = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
WAWNE PARISH (1707) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1707-1870

1707-1844, 1881

None

JMI None
1707-1837

None
ANC (£) None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

AO None

None

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Wawne to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Wawne page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 429-432. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:13.
  • This page has been accessed 711 times.