Webster County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Webster County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Webster County

Guide to Webster County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Webster County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Webster County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 16, 1853
County Seat Preston
Address Webster County Courthouse]
Washington Street and Hwy 280; PO Box 29
Preston, GA 31824
Phone. 229.828.3525 Webster County Website


County Courthouse

Webster County Courthouse
Washington Street and Hwy 280; PO Box 29
Preston, GA 31824
Phone: (229) 828-3525  

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records[1]

Webster County Superior Court
6330 Hamilton St # 102,
Preston, GA 31824
Phone:(229) 828-3525

Webster County Probate Judge
6330 Hamilton St,
Preston, GA 31824
Phone:(229) 828-3615

Beginning Dates for Webster County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate


Parent County

1853--Webster County was created 16 December 1853 from Stewart County.  County seat: Preston [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1914. The courthouse at Preston burned 27 September 1914. Many, but not all, county records were destroyed.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Chattahoochee  • Marion  • Randolph  • Stewart  • Sumter  • Terrell

Webster CountySumter CountyDooly CountyTurner CountyWorth CountyLee CountyCrisp CountyDougherty CountyCalhoun CountyTerrell CountyRandolph CountyClay CountyQuitman CountyStewart CountyMuscogee CountyChattahoochee CountyMarion CountySchley CountyTaylor CountyMacon CountyHouston CountyLee CountyRussell CountyMacon CountyBullock CountyBarbour CountyHenry CountyGAWebster.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Webster County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Webster County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Webster County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 17th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A and K
- 46th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

  • Webster County (Georgia). Superior Court Clerk. 1966. Military records, 1944-1964: confederate muster roll, for Webster and Stewart Counties; World War I service records, compiled under sponsorship of the American Legion and the American Legion Auxiliary by the Veterans Service Office; and discharge records. Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah. film 431391



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Webster County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1878-1883 - Webster County Marriage Index 1878-1883. Batch M713951 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 4672
Albany, GA 31706
Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Webster County, Georgia. Page 162 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 59. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2015, at 18:14.
  • This page has been accessed 6,320 times.