Webster County, West Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Webster County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Webster County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||January 10, 1860|
|County Seat||Webster Springs|
|Address|| Webster County Courthouse|
2 Court Sq #G1
;Webster Springs, WV 26288
Webster County Website
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, burial, probate, and land records from 1887
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
For tips on accessing Webster County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Regiments. Service men in Webster County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Webster County, West Virginia Genealogy:
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Companies B and I.
- - 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company B (Capt. William H. Mollohan's Company).
Records and histories are available, including:
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- Civil War and Rev War for Webster County
- West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991
Online Probate Records
- 1724 - 1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756 - 1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at [https:/familysearch.org/ FamilySearch] — index and images
Webster County, West Virginia Will Books 1888 - 1964
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.
. Includes marriages 1888-1969 - free.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Webster County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Webster County Family Histories
- Hacker's Creek Pioneer Descedants, Inc
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Webster County, West Virginia. Page 746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2016, at 02:05.
- This page has been accessed 12,680 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News