Weeley, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Weeley, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Weeley

Guide to Weeley, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Weeley, Essex
Wheeley St Andrew contributor Peter Stack.jpg
Wheeley St Andrew contributor Peter Stack
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tendring
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring PLU
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Osyth
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Weeley (St. Andrew), is a parish, in an ancient village, in Tendring district, Essex; it is on the Tendring Hundred railway, it is 10½ miles ESE of Colchester. There ia ;a post-office under Colchester, and a railway station. There are two Methodist chapels.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Weeley, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
Weeley, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1562-1991 1562-1837 1560-1993
FREG 1699-1850 1690-1837 1689-1850

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.


Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 15 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:49.
  • This page has been accessed 2,156 times.