Weem, Perthshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Weem, Perthshire, Scotland)

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Weem

Parish #398

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Weem. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.


Contents

History
 

WEEM, a parish, in the county of Perth, 1 mile (N. W.) from Aberfeldy; containing the hamlets of Balnasuim, Caolvallock, Kirkton of Weem, Balwahanaid, Cragganester, Craggantoul, and Tombreck, and part of the quoad sacra parish of Glenlyon. This place is supposed to have taken its name from the Gaelic word uamh, or uamha, signifying "a cave," a recess here of some kind having formerly afforded an asylum for persons in danger or distress, though no traces of it are now to be found. The church was built in 1835, and contains 561 sittings. Part of this parish is annexed for ecclesiastical purposes to the district church of Glenlyon, in the parish of Fortingal, and other parts are connected with the mission chapels of Lawers and Amulrie; the distance of the inhabitants, in some places amounting to thirty miles, rendering their attendance at the parish church next to impossible.[1]

 The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Weem, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042698
none
1851
1042251
941.32 X22p 1851 no. 398
1861
0103896
none
1871
0104079
none
1881
0203515
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
0208745
 none


The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1692-1723 - baptisms 1040193 item 4

1738-1821 - baptisms 1040193 item 4

1820-1854 1040142 item 1
Marriages: 1692-1705 1040193 item 4

1738-1819 1040193 item 4

1819-1863 1040142 item 1
Deaths: 1800-1813 - burials 1040193 item 4

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Births intermixed with marriages up to 1742. There are very few entries April –June 1705. No entries September 1707–March 1738, except a few irregular entries dated 1710–1723. Births are separately registered after September 1743. At June 1811 is a page of irregular entries, followed by a list of births from "Cranich" March 1802–1811 inclusive. Regular record resumed at January 1813. There is a page of irregular entries, 1810–1821, before January 1819.
Marriages: Marriages intermixed with births up to 1742. No entries November 1704–March 1738. From 1738–1743 the entries of marriages are more numerous than those of the births. Marriage records among baptisms until 1742. Separate record from 1742, regularly kept.
Deaths: Only two death entries, dated 1800 and 1813.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes and Account 1705–1756, 1770–1819
Minutes 1741–1768, 1828–1869
Accounts 1819–1820
Collections 1747–1769
Distributions 1748–1769
Baptisms of the Family of Menzies of that Ilk 1817–1855
List of Ministers and Elders 1560–1935
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/1384.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

There were no known nonconformist groups in this parish.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Weem was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunkeld until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunkkeld.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 588-608. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 May 2014.


Return to Perthshire parish list.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,454 times.