Welches Dam, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Welches Dam, Cambridgeshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Welches Dam, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Welches Dam, Cambridgeshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union North Witchford PLU
Registration District North Witchford
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WELCHES-DAM, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of North Witchford, hundred of South Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Welches Dam is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241229.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Welches Dam on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 498-499.Date accessed and adapted: 17 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:43.
  • This page has been accessed 988 times.