Welford, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Welford, Berkshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Welford, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Welford, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faircross
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Newbury PLU
Registration District Newbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Wickham and Hoe Benham beginning 1649
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607; Separate records exist for Wickham and Hoe Benham beginning 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WELFORD (St. Gregory), a parish, in the union of Newbury, partly in the hundred of KintburyEagle, but chiefly in that of Faircross, county of Berks, 4 miles (N. W.) from Newbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Welford, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
WELFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK

Undefined
Undefined
IGI 1562-1812
1603-1748


PALL

1800-1837


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464169.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Welford in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 498-499. Date accessed: 08 April 2013
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 21:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,255 times.